UK Poker Player Poker News Michael Webber Wins Dusk Till Dawn Grand Prix V

Michael Webber Wins Dusk Till Dawn Grand Prix V

Posted by Anthony on January 26, 2012 at 1:31 BST

DTD Grand PrixEnglishman Michael Webber has lifted the latest Dusk Till Dawn Grand Prix event in the Nottingham poker room for €21,223.

Webber was one of 2,089 entrants who signed up for the seven opening days of the €50+€10 buy-in Grand Prix V that guaranteed a prize pool of €100,000 that eventually reached the dizzying heights of €104,450 with those 89 extra players entered. Webber’s best previous cash, for $2,865, had come back in January of 2009, when he finished second – behind Englishwoman Shana Casaletto – in a £100 buy-in No-Limit Hold’em event at the opening leg of the Grosvenor UK Poker Tour in Brighton.

As we have come to expect from a Dusk Till Dawn tournament, the standard of play was high at the poker club and casino – and that meant Webber had to work hard and smart see off the likes of David Bramley, Nigel Ventre and Balvinder Nijjar ahead of ultimately securing the top prize by beating Norwegian Sigurd Andre Madsen in their heads-up battle.

Norway’s Sigurd Andre Madsen Takes Second Place

Madsen left with a rather handy €12,015.20 for his runner-up spot, while Ventre collected €7,509.50 for third spot, fifth-placed Bramley took €4,244.50, and Nijjar boosted his bank balance with €1,306.00 for finishing in ninth. An incredible 207 players made the money, with Matthew Evans happy to sneak into profit with $75 for filling that final spot. Another notable final table finisher was student Alex Marsden as the Keele University Poker Society member picked up €1,632.50 for his eighth place finish. Marsden could well be one to watch out for in the very near future. Meanwhile, Dusk Till Dawn’s next key event arrives on Friday, February 3, when the £500 buy-in Deepstack tournament takes place. Satellites are, as would be expected, running right now.

Top 10 placings and payouts from the Dusk Till Dawn Grand Prix V event:

1. Michael Webber (England) – €21,222.50 ($27,612/£17,750)
2. Sigurd Andre Madsen (Norway) – €12,015.20 ($15,630/£10,048)
3. Nigel Ventre (England) – €7,509.50 ($9,769/£6,280)
4. Leon Iacono (England) – €5,224 ($6,795/£4,369)
5. David Bramley (England) – €4,244.50 ($5,521/£3,550)
6. Inderpal Doshanjh (England) – €2,938.50 ($3,822/£2,457)
7. Kenneth Stokes (England) – €2,285.50 ($2,973/£1,911)
8. Alex Marsden (England) – €1,632.50 ($2,124/£1,365)
9. Balvinder Nijjar (England) – €1,306 ($1,699/£1,092)
10. Scott Margerson (England) – €914.20 ($1,189/£764)