UK Poker Player Poker News WSOP Player of the Year Update

WSOP Player of the Year Update

Posted by Andy on July 05, 2011 at 1:34 BST

wsop 2011With just a handful of events to go in the 42nd Annual World Series of Poker – and nothing being concluded today – it is a good time to look at the World Series of Poker Player of the Year standings.

The WSOP Player of the Year (PoY) is an accolade that professional poker players regard as an outstanding achievement as it cannot be won by just one good performance alone. In order to feature on the PoY Leaderboard you must have strung together some good results throughout the tournament series, and consequently there are a couple of notable names within the PoY Top Ten still to win a bracelet in the 2011 World Series of Poker.

How the WSOP Player of the Year is Calculated

Points are awarded for each performance in a qualifying tournament based on the value of the buy-in, how many players enter and the player´s finishing position. The game discipline (ie Stud, Hold´em, Omaha) also influences how many points are received as well as whether the game is a full ring or short-handed. The Main Event itself carries additional bonuses depending on where players finish, but even the 500 points the Main Event winner receives would not get them to the top of the current PoY Leaderboard.

Ben Lamb Leads the Player of the Year Standings

That honour currently goes to American Ben Lamb, who won the $10,000 Pot limit Omaha Championship (Event 42), came second in the $3,000 Pot Limit Omaha Championship (Event 31) and also cashed in the $10,000 Six Handed NLHE Championship (Event 46). Lamb is hotly pursued by a pack which includes UK poker player Chris Moorman (4 cashes to date, 2 final table appearances, 0 bracelets), Bertrand Grospellier (4 cashes to date, 2 final table appearances, 1 bracelet) and Phil Hellmuth (4 cashes to date, 2 final table appearances, 0 bracelets).

The Player of the Year Top Ten standings (and some UK poker player rankings) looks like this:-

Position Name Points
1 Ben Lamb 572.65
2 Chris Moorman 486.20
3 Bertrand Grospellier 479.25
4 Phil Hellmuth 458.25
5 Samuel Stein 416.13
6 Joe Ebanks 410.25
7 Mikhail Lakhitov 401.80
8 Jason Mercier 385.33
9 Mitch Schock 364.81
10 Sean Getzwiller 343.00
19 Jake Cody 313.13
25 Richard Ashby 293.60
56 Jonathon Spinks 219.90
69 Darren Woods 202.13
88 Stephen Chidwick 184.61
112 Chris Bjorin 159.88
142 Matt Perrins 140.00
192 John Kabbaj 124.13
267 David Vamplew 101.20